How to Become a Licensed Security Guard Trainer in Arizona

In order to teach the security guards in the State of Arizona, the instructor must be licensed by the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS). There are five (5) courses requiring one (1) license.

Unarmed Courses (no license):

  • 8-hours Unarmed Pre-assignment Class
  • 8-hours Unarmed Refresher Class

Armed Courses (firearms-safety instructor license):

  • 16-hours Armed Security Guard Class
  • 8-hours Shotgun Class
  • 8-hours Armed Security Guard Refresher Class

Unarmed trainers are the only individuals who are authorized to sign as the unarmed trainer on Security Guard Unarmed Training Verification Forms.

Firearm-Safety Instructors are the only individuals who are authorized to sign as the Firearm-Safety Instructor on Security Guard Armed Training Verification Forms.

Minimum Trainer Qualifications

Unarmed Trainer

There are no specific qualifications to teach the unarmed courses. However, the instructor must be specifically named, in writing, by the Agency's Qualifying Manager. The Qualifying Manager must send a letter with the instructor's information to the DPS.

Firearms-Safety Trainer

Arizona Administrative Code, Title 13. Public Safety, Chapter 6. Department of Public Safety Security Guards, Article 7. Firearms-Safety Training Instructors.

R13-6-701. Qualifications of a Firearms-safety Instructor

Only an individual who meets the following qualifications is eligible to be certified by the Department under A.R.S. ยง 32-2632 as a firearms-safety instructor:

  1. Is a resident of this state or a U.S. citizen;
  2. Is at least 21 years old;
  3. Is not under indictment for and has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony;
  4. Does not suffer from mental illness and has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
  5. Is not unlawfully present in the United States;
  6. Is not a prohibited possessor; and
  7. Possesses current evidence of completing one of the following firearms-safety training instructor programs:
    1. Arizona Basic Police Firearms Instructor training provided by the Arizona Peace Officers Standards and Training Board;
    2. Police Firearms Instructor Development School provided by the National Rifle Association;
    3. Law Enforcement Security Firearms Instructor Development School provided by the National Rifle Association;
    4. Training provided by the National Rifle Association that results in rating as one of the following:
      1. Pistol Instructor and Personal Protection Instructor,
      2. Law Enforcement Tactical Handgun Instructor,
        or
      3. Law Enforcement Handgun or Shotgun Instructor; or
    5. Firearms Instructor Training Program provided by a federal law enforcement agency.

Firearm-Safety Instructors must be specifically designated to the Licensing Unit by the Qualifying Party in writing. This can be done by completing Section F of the Security Guard Agency Application or in a separate letter.

Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor Application

Individuals desiring to become Arizona Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructors must submit:

  • A completed application
  • A copy of the required firearms instructor credentials (see above)
  • A properly completed fingerprint card with classifiable fingerprints
  • A photocopy of a government-issued identification card (driver's license, passport, etc.)
  • The application fee of $50

Firearms-safety Instructor License

The Firearms-Safety Instructor License is valid for two (2) years at which time it must be renewed.

Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor Renewal Application

Individuals desiring to renew the Arizona Security Guard Firearms-Safety Instructor License must submit:

  • A completed application
  • A properly completed fingerprint card with classifiable fingerprints
  • A copy of the required firearms instructor credentials (see above)
  • A photocopy of a government-issued identification card (driver's license, passport, etc.)
  • The renewal fee of $50

Licensing Training Materials

Trainers and facilities are not required to write their own programs. It is possible to license DPS-approved training materials from other, approved training providers. Costs and fees vary depending upon the provider.

Arizona DPS-approved training materials can be licensed from here: http://az.GuardCardTraining.com/

In addition to using approved training materials, the security guard agency must complete, have notarized and submit a "Security Guard Training Program" form.

Disclaimer

Security Training Center,® LLC. is not a government department or organization. The information and links on this page is provided as a courtesy to individuals looking to become security guard trainers in the State of Hawaii and/or license training materials. Although great pains have been taken to collect the information provided here, Security Training Center,® LLC. does not guarantee the accuracy of the information provided.

All questions regarding trainer licensure and applications should be directed to the Department of Public Safety (DPS):

Arizona Department of Public Safety
(602) 223-2361
http://licensing.azdps.gov/